A New Year’s Resolution I Can Get Behind

I resisted making a New Year’s resolution this year. I am tired, tiiiiiired, of vowing to lose weight, read more books, and be a better person every single year. It’s exhausting, and only leads to failure, which makes me want to drink.

And then it hit me. Drinks!

My New Year’s resolution for 2015 is simple: every month, I will try a new cocktail and learn to make it at home.

GENIUS.

January’s cocktail is the Sidecar.

Wikipedia can fill you in, but here’s the short history of the sidecar: It was invented in Paris, or maybe London, around the end of World War I. The basic idea recipe is equal parts cognac/brandy, Cointreau/triple sec, and lemon juice. This formulation is known as the “French school,” while the “English school” involves two parts cognac to one part Cointreau and one part lemon juice.

Many hip drinking establishments (and Pinterest recipes) insist upon a sugared glass rim. Some suggest garnishing with a cherry – not the bright red ice-cream-sundae maraschinos, but darker, cocktail-worthy cherries. You know, for grownups.

We gathered up our ingredients: a higher-end brandy, triple sec, and fresh-squeezed lemon juice. Jason threw them in the cocktail shaker with ice, and strained them into glasses. A dark cherry served as a minimalist garnish. This was good for Jason, but it was a bit acidic for me. I wanted the effect of a sugared rim without the work, so I added about a teaspoon of simple syrup to my drink. Perfection.

What does it taste like?

I think of a sidecar as a winter margarita – it’s citrusy without being summery. The brandy adds warmth and depth. This drink goes down very easy, so be careful.

Sidecar

Yeah, this is way better than hitting the gym.

4 Comments

Filed under Food

4 responses to “A New Year’s Resolution I Can Get Behind

  1. Jillian

    I totally support this resolution. Also Sidecars are my favorite. Actually they might be tied with a French 75. Yum.

  2. Ruth

    so did you use the French or the English recipe??

  3. Pingback: Cocktail of the Month: Manhattan | House Blend

Leave a Reply

