Waffles, the Verb: Part 2

Read Part 1 here.

So after months – nay, YEARS – of agonizing over the curtain fabric for the dining room, I found myself with one partially-sewn window panel and a broken sewing machine.

My sewing machine was purchased in 1978 by my father, as a Christmas gift for my mother. This may have been the worst gift idea of all time, bless his heart. I found it in a closet (unopened!) in high school, and thus commenced my slow and frustrating journey to amateur seamstressdom.

Anyway, the point of that tale is that my machine is old. It’s complicated to thread, nothing is automatic, and it seems to break on an alarmingly regular basis. The repair that currently has it sidelined will cost at least $75. Whine whine WHINE.

So I decided to get a new machine. I know, I know, that’s kind of terrible. The machine wasn’t totaled, and the new one cost way more than $75, but I waaaaanted it. And I had the money. And it was my berfday. So. New machine.

Did I mention I’m bad at making decisions? It’s appalling how much research went into the sewing machine purchase. But decide I did, and two days later a new Singer 7258 showed up on my doorstep.

This moment of glee was brought to you by Amazon Prime.

IMG_0265

So far, it’s been amazing. I finished the curtains lickety split, using this tutorial from SAS Interiors. I even faked pinch pleats after seeing the idea on House of Hepworths.

BOOM.

IMG_0258

Here’s a close-up of the tops:

IMG_0259

And another look at the amazing goldfishy fabric:

IMG_0263

The best part? I got them finished just in time for Thanksgiving. Yeay!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Home, Projects

One response to “Waffles, the Verb: Part 2

  1. Amy

    Your curtains look great! I just ordered the same machine as a present to myself, and now I’m even more excited to get it. I am also upgrading from a pretty old, bare bones machine. Sometimes you’ve just got to go for it :-).

Leave a Reply

