Adventures in Dumpster Diving: Jewelry Display Shutter

A few weeks ago, when I was writing that series on de-cluttering, one of the items on which I put an expiration date was a single window shutter I’d picked up off the street almost six months ago. It was wood, it was in very good shape, and I was going to “do something” with it. Honest. I was.

Pinterest, that saucy minx, tempted me with projects like this one:

Or this one:

Or this one:

I was crippled by indecision. And so the shutter sat in the garage. Waiting. JUDGING ME.

Last weekend I decided I wanted to use it to organize and display my non-fancy necklaces. Many of them are rather chunky, and take up a lot of space in my jewelry box (if they fit at all!).

On Sunday I cleaned the shutter thoroughly and gave it a single coat of white gloss spray paint, which I had left over from another project. Jason attached some spare picture hangers on the back, and I bought three packs of small S-hooks from Home Depot at $1.18 apiece.

And now it hangs on a narrow wall in my bedroom:

IMG_9027

It’s pretty, it’s functional, it’s DONE. And the total cost was less than $4.00. Victory in our time!

IMG_9028

 

4 Comments

Filed under Home, Projects

4 responses to “Adventures in Dumpster Diving: Jewelry Display Shutter

  1. Lisa

    that looks great!

  2. Robyn

    Um, that looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

