Five Minute Makeup

In my ongoing quest to spend a few more minutes under the covers in the morning, I decided to pare down my makeup “routine.” As with most things, this involved searching Pinterest for “five minute makeup.”

Surprisingly, most of the results were “Five Minute Makeup for Busy Moms” or “Mommy Makeup” or some other nonsense. Seriously, WHO AMONG US HAS MORE THAN FIVE MINUTES TO PUT ON MAKEUP, whether or not you have children?

Anyway.

My previous makeup routine involved foundation, powder, and then many wasted minutes deciding on an eye makeup combination that went with my outfit. Or did I want to try something new entirely? Or maybe I should not wear makeup because I’m not very good at it? I DON’T KNOW. FLAILING. DESPAIR.

One of the best tips I found was to put your “everyday” makeup in a separate small bag. It seems dumb, but it eliminates a lot of digging around and waffling over Too Many Choices.

So what’s in my bag?

1. Base layer: I have rosacea, so going without foundation is not something I’m comfortable with. I am currently finishing a bottle of Clinique’s Redness Solutions makeup (SPF 15):

But when that is done I will be switching to Clinique’s CC cream (lighter formula, higher SPF):

2. Concealer

I’ve gotten old enough, and tired enough, that undereye concealer really does help. I’m currently using and adoring Maybelline’s Fit Me Concealer in Light:

3. Eyeshadow

After that comes a fat crayon eyeshadow in a neutral brown. This is Clinique’s Chubby Stick Shadow Tint for Eyes, which I love:

4. Eyeliner

I’ve recently mastered the dark arts, by which I mean pencil eyeliner. I alternate between a dark brown and a dark purple (I have green eyes). I got both of them at the drug store, and neither requires a sharpener, and otherwise I couldn’t tell you what brand they are to save my life.

Like I said, I’m tired.

5. Mascara

I was a long-time devotee of Maybelline’s Great Lash mascara (I’m a sucker for “cult favorites”) but in the last year I’ve switched to this one:

Big fan. I don’t have problematic eyelashes, so I don’t need a miracle in a tube. This one is perfect.

6. Lip

Usually I just swipe on some Rosebud salve and call it a day.

But if I’m feeling really crazy, I’ll add a sheer berry gloss or gloss-balm, like this one from Cover Girl (I have Jam Twist):

And that’s it! It’s the makeup equivalent of laying out your clothes the night before.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

