Nursery Progress: Art!

I promise, I’ll stop talking about the Impending Arrival of Kate the Chicken soon. Soonish.

Anyway, last weekend, while Jason was busy painting the nursery walls, I had the kids make art. I want them to feel included in this process, and to be excited about it.

IMG_8649

I bought a stack of five 16 x 20 canvases from Michaels for 40% off. I think they ended up being $10. I then bought craft paints in colors pulled from the nursery – a pear green, a buttery yellow, a deep teal, a navy blue, and a raspberry pink. The paints and brushes were $7.00.

IMG_8651

Because I am a bit of a control freak, I had to leave the house while they were painting.

They had been discussing their plans for several hours before I left, so I had some idea what they were planning.

IMG_8653

When I returned, they were mostly finished.

Hollyn chose to make a graphic statement with her artwork:

IMG_8672

Jensen painted a very pretty cherry blossom branch on a navy background:

IMG_8671

And Tyler stuck to his own particular idiom and made a coat of arms:

IMG_8673

I am very pleased that each of the kids put a lot of thought and effort into their work, and that each canvas reflects its maker. I can’t wait to hang them in the nursery.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Nursery Progress: Art!

  1. Lisa

    I LOVE their artwork! What a great idea to have them create artwork for their new “chick”. Each piece is different and fun and will be such an heirloom for “Kate”. Congratulations and well done! (And I like hearing news about the Great Coming – keep it up! ) 🙂

  2. Windy Taylor

    Thanks, Lisa! They took their assignment very seriously.

  3. Pingback: Done is the Only Virtue | House Blend

Leave a Reply

