No Darkroom Required

I love taking pictures, especially since Jason gave me a fancy-schmancy camera for Christmas 2012. I’m still very much an amateur, but I enjoy it.

f88f4f4e1e5e11e3ac3122000a1fb77a_7

And yet, I am terrrrrrible about printing photos. I am only marginally better about backing photos up onto a CD or web site.

fdea6ce20eb611e38d0b22000aaa0532_7

That said, one of my biggest fears is losing my photographs. We were incredibly lucky that our house fire didn’t damage a single one, but the thought of losing images of deceased relatives or ever-changing children is just heart-stopping.

3e5bbeb2333c11e39d1322000ab5c007_8

You want to know how many of our wedding photos we’ve had printed since 2009? Two. TWO.

IMG_7947

Recently, I decided to take action. I saw several tutorials like this one, which create a customizable rotating display for photos. And I also learned that Snapfish now offers “Deco Prints.” Like Printstagram, you get 4×4 photos printed on heavy cardstock. Unlike Printstagram, you don’t have to order sets of 24, and can often get free shipping.

IMG_7312

I have an Instagram feed, but I used Picasa to crop most of these photos, then sent 53 to be printed, all taken during 2013. They won’t all fit in a frame at once, but I can rotate them throughout the year.

IMG_6955

I printed lots of pictures of the kids, and several of the pets (both living and not-living). I also printed some of my attempts at nature photography.

1cb7378a43e211e3ae5e22000a1f8fb9_8

I also needed a big frame. I scored this bad boy for $20 at Goodwill. Note: Frames without glass are much cheaper. (Jason asked, “Should we make sure this isn’t secretly a masterwork before we take the picture out?”)

Frame

I can’t wait to see how the finished product looks. I plan to hang my collage over the sofa in the family room, where I can see it every day.

1 Comment

Filed under Home, Projects

One response to “No Darkroom Required

  1. Pingback: Done and Done: Instagram Photo Frame | House Blend

Leave a Reply

