Gallery

Back in May, I had some of my photographs printed with an eye towards actually hanging them up in my house. The cost of photo printing was about $3.00.

A couple of weeks ago, I found 8 good white frames in the clearance section of Michaels, so I got them for $12 apiece, or around $100.

I decided to hang the group of photos in the living room, which has one GIANT ENDLESS BLANK WALL that is currently occupied by a single mirror.

IMG_7844

I had leftover navy paint from my foyer table, so I used that to paint the frames. The blue matches the octopus chairs, which obviously are the most important things, ever.

IMG_7835

It took three coats of paint per frame, so the painting ended up being an all-day process. I kept reminding myself that I was saving money. Saaaaaaving money.

We let them dry overnight in the guest room, with the fan on. The next morning I laid out the frames on the living room floor, to see how I wanted to hang them.

IMG_7848

Ron would not move, so he became part of the art installation.

The process was…. laborious. Each frame had two triangle-shaped hangers on the back. The hangers were not evenly-spaced, nor was the spacing consistent between frames. They were also fixed, so you couldn’t adjust the frame once it was hung (as opposed to a wire or saw-tooth hanger). We made good use of my phone’s level app.

Pro tip: if the alignment is just slightly off, you can wrap the nail in a little duct tape to raise one side or the other, without having to move the nail.

IMG_7852

It took over an hour, but eventually we got all the pictures hung. I also hung a couple of Blue Willow plates that were languishing in the breakfront.

IMG_7859

Here is a more-or-less-straight-on view. Please excuse the glare.

IMG_7855

I am thrilled with the results. I like that it’s uncluttered, and there’s plenty of room to expand.

IMG_7860

Now, where’s my camera? I have more art to make.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Gallery

  1. Jennifer

    It turned out PERFECT! Love love love! The space looks so chic now 🙂 Congrats.

  2. Lisa

    I really like your layout – it looks great. The blue paint is a great color.

Leave a Reply

