Blog Every Day in May: Letting Go

Day 30: React to this term: Letting Go

Intensely difficult.

I tend to wallow in past offenses, to gleefully go over What So-and-So Did To Me, and it’s stupid and it sucks and I need to stop.

I’m getting better.

We all know someone who Just Can’t Let It Go – whatever “it” is. It’s really unattractive, isn’t it? I don’t want people to look at me and only see my hang-ups. And I am not nearly so important that I imagine anyone else cares what So-and-So Did To Me That One Time.

I have found a visualization that works pretty well. I imagine I am standing waist-deep in a river. I take out the thing that’s bothering me, make it tangible. If I’m anxious because my decorating budget is not unlimited, I’ll pull out that perfectly-coordinated throw pillow I saw on Etsy. If I’m upset about my weight, I’ll pull out size-0 pants. I put the item on the surface of the river and let the current carry it away. This usually works pretty well.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Blog Every Day in May: Letting Go

  1. Kat

    I really like the river image – I’m going to try it the next time something is bothering me! (Which will probably be within four minutes.)

  2. Krista

    I just drowned my boss in the river. You are right. It felt great!

Leave a Reply

