Blog Every Day in May: Muzak

Day 29: Five songs or pieces of music that speak to you or bring back memories. Use Grooveshark or YouTube to include them in the post

1. “Wanting Memories,” by Sweet Honey in the Rock

I first heard this song as a high schooler at a Presbyterian camp called Montreat. I sang it to Tyler every night when he was a baby. I love, love, love, love it.

2. Carmina Burana, by Carl Orff

Not only is this an amazing piece of music, but I performed it in college, and it always brings back happy chorus memories.

3. Pretty much anything by Jim Steinman, including but not limited to “Total Eclipse of the Heart” by Bonnie Tyler and “Making Love Out of Nothing At All” by Air Supply

Because sometimes you need to roll up the windows, turn the volume to 11, and release your inner freak. You know you do it too.

4. “Romeo + Juliet,” originally by the Dire Straits, performed by the Indigo Girls

The first time I heard the Indigo Girls’ version of this song, it literally took my breath away. It remains one of my favorite songs, by one of my favorite bands.

5. “Famous Blue Raincoat,” written by Leonard Cohen, performed by Tori Amos

Again, this gives me shivers.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

