Blog Every Day in May: Struggles

Day 20: Get real. Share something you’re struggling with right now.

“I can’t complain, but sometimes I still do.” – Joe Walsh

This pretty much sums up my attitude right now. Sure, there are things that I wish were a little different, but overall I wake up every morning grateful for the life I have. There’s nothing I am “really struggling with” right now. Maybe it’s because I’ve struggled with legitimate, life-altering issues in the last ten years – everything from losing a parent to going through a divorce to having my house burn up. The everyday concerns seem so….small. So petty. Not worth complaining about.

I don’t feel it’s right to waste my energy magnifying problems just so I can “have a struggle.” I mean, yesterday I heard about a seven-year-old boy whose brain cancer has spread to his lungs. Compared to that, “I wish I could lose 10 pounds” sounds unbelievably selfish and stupid. I. literally. have. nothing. to. struggle. with.

Sorry to totally whiff the prompt!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

