Blog Every Day in May: Day 6

Day 6, Monday: If you couldn’t answer with your job, how would you answer the question, ‘what do you do’?



Good question.

For those who don’t know, I currently work as a paralegal for a small insurance defense firm. I have two bosses. One of them specializes in professional liability/errors & omissions work, and the other is general counsel for one of Tallahassee’s colleges.

I enjoy paralegal work. Like my first job, as a newspaper reporter, I am paid to be nosy. I have been a paralegal for seven years now, and I feel reasonably competent at it. Many people have asked me why I don’t go back to school to be a lawyer. My response (after I finish hee-hawing) is that I don’t want to. I get to leave my office, and my work, at 5:00. Neither of my bosses bothers me after hours or on the weekends.

I don’t consider my job to be “what I do.” It’s a means to fund “what I do,” which is “run a household and a marriage and herd three children and a couple of pets.” I’m a domestic engineer. I’m a home economist. It makes me happy when my house is clean, organized, and running smoothly.

If I didn’t work, I would spend more of my time volunteering – at church, at school, at the Boston Terrier rescue. Service to others (two- and four-legged) makes me happy.

So what do I do?

I do a little bit of everything.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

