Blog Every Day in May: Day 4

I saw this “Blog Every Day in May” challenge over at Story of My Life, and thought I’d give it a try.



But of course, I didn’t see it until May 3, so I’m getting a late start.

Day 4: Favorite Quote and Why You Love It

Pressure

The quote that appears below my high school senior yearbook photo was, “Pressure creates diamonds.” I don’t know that it’s my favorite quote, but it’s certainly been my unofficial mantra since 1998. I am a happier, healthier person when I am busy; I get anxious when I have too much down time. I need deadlines, goals, competition.

If anyone had asked me why I chose that quote for my senior picture, I’d probably have said something about the number of extracurriculars in which I was involved, the depth and breadth of my course load, and my aspirations to attend the best liberal arts college in the country.

(Yeah, I was kind of lame.)

But now? The quote still resonates with me because of the challenges I’ve faced since graduating from college. I buried a parent. I had a baby. I got divorced. My house burned up. Each of these events created tremendous pressure – physical, mental, emotional – on me, and each time I’ve squared my shoulders and pushed through. Have I handled everything with perfect grace? Heck no. But I kept going.

Maybe I should have chosen, “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming, just keep swimming, swimming, swimming….”

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Blog Every Day in May: Day 4

  1. Lisa

    Good luck on your challenge! I’ll look forward to reading your posts. I like your mantra, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

