World Traveler

So, we went on this trip.

Let me say it better: My mother took Jason, me, and my brother on amazing, once-in-a-lifetime, blow-your-mind trip to visit the Galapagos Islands and Machu Picchu. She’s wanted to visit these places since she was a child, and since she retired earlier this year, she finally had the opportunity to go.

The trip was so big that I can’t fit it all in one post. So today I’ll go over the Ecuador portion, which should be a nice warm-up.

On October 26, we flew from Tampa to Miami to Quito, Ecuador.

Fun fact: Ecuador exports beautiful roses. They’re everywhere. Our tour guide told us, “It’s easy to be a gentleman here.”

Not-so-fun fact: It turns out I get altitude sickness. Quito’s elevation is about 9,000 feet, and I spent most of the first night painfully awake. Don’t worry, I rallied – I wasn’t about to let little things like a crippling migraine and nausea keep me from seeing the sights.

We visited the national cathedral, which is quite clever. Instead of standard gargoyles, they decorated with native animals.

Just outside of Quito is the Equatorial monument, which is conveniently located on the Equator.

That’s Jason in the Southern Hemisphere, me in the Northern Hemisphere. Special thanks to Daisy Duke, behind us, for appearing to balance on my head.

Fun fact: Ecuador and Peru have something like 2,000 varieties of potatoes, and over 200 varieties of corn. Clearly, these carb-lovers are my people. One of my favorite foods that I tried was a creamy corn soup topped with queso fresco and fresh avocado. I was too busy eating it to take a picture. I KNOW.

Not-so-fun fact: They also eat guinea pigs in South America. It’s called “cuy” (pronounced “quee,” as in “the sound guinea pigs make”), and it was on a disturbing number of menus during our trip. Our Peru tour guide assured us that they only eat cuy on special occasions – like birthdays, anniversaries, weddings, baptisms, etc. Now I don’t know about you, but “romantic anniversary dinner” and “roasted guinea pig” don’t really go together in my mind. But hey – when in Rome, right?

Note: I did not try the roasted guinea pig.

So that was Quito:

And that was just Saturday!

Next we flew to Baltra Island in the Galapagos, where our real adventures began…..

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “World Traveler

  1. Pingback: Pitchers | House Blend

Leave a Reply

