Oh, Amherst, brave Amherst

This afternoon I will leave Tallahassee for my 10-year reunion at Amherst College, in Amherst, MA.

I haven’t been to Amherst since my five-year Reunion in 2007.

Some things have changed.

This is Tyler in 2007:

Some things will be unchanged.

This is Johnson Chapel in 2007, but it could be 1907.

I am changed. In 2007 I was married to someone else, and brutally unhappy. I was thrilled to get away from him, even for four days. This year, I will miss Jason terribly. He is not able to come with me, so I’m taking Tyler as my date.

I am so much happier, deeply happier, than I was in 2007. I am finally comfortable in my skin. Not necessarily thrilled (hello, saddlebags. howyadoin, laugh lines.), but comfortable.

My Amherst friends have been listening to Tyler stories since the day he was born. I hope they’re excited to meet him. I’ve told him to be prepared for total strangers to know exactly who he is, to know all the funny comments he’s ever made.

I can’t wait.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Oh, Amherst, brave Amherst

  1. Robyn

    Tyler! So cute!

  2. gail brent

    I love your blog……….gail b

Leave a Reply

