The Whole Buffalo

There are two truths that circle each other at the center of my being:

1. I love to create nice things – food, clothing, crafts, you name it.

2. I am cheap to a fault. Seriously. And I come from a loooong line of frugal quasi-hoarders.

For a long time, I would buy things on sale with the idea that I would do “something” with them “one day.” I had Rubbermaid boxes full of fabric and patterns from the 99-cent pattern sales at Jo-Ann’s. I had skeins of yarn from the local yarn shop’s big summer sale, and stacks of baskets purchased at 40% off from Michael’s. A friend in Alabama decided to give up stamping, and gave me hundreds of dollars’ worth of stamps, ink, and paper. (I don’t stamp!) In addition, I had every leftover scrap from every project I had ever undertaken.

Needless to say, it was kind of a disaster.

In order to bring the two circling truths into harmony, I needed to craft SMARTER, not harder.

During the first move last year, and the second move last year, I sucked it up and parted with a lot of things. I vowed to use the materials I already had, or in the alternative, to actually complete projects in a timely fashion.

Which brings me to a $9.00 tank top. When I was gathering supplies for my second maxi dress, I needed a tank top. The only ones available at Target were $9.00 – almost three times more than the tutorial’s example! My impatience won out over my frugality that day, and I bought it. Then I cut it up to make the dress.

And what do you think happened to the bottom 12″ of the tank top? Did I throw it out?

No. I kept it. Because I am an insane person who could do “something” with it “one day.” For a week it sat on the dresser in the guest room, taunting me.

On Wednesday, I silenced the taunting.

With the leftovers from the tank top, I made this fabric flower pin:

And this fabric flower pin (this was the hem of the tank top):

My $9.00 tank top had yielded three finished, wearable pieces. And when I was done making them, I tossed the scraps. I may have asked Jason to unfurl my clenched claw-fingers, but I did it!

Leftovers and scraps are great for trying new techniques or experimenting for potential projects. But I have to be vigilant about USING them, and silencing the inner voice that tells me I should save everything for “something,” “one day.”

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Whole Buffalo

  1. Kathy Taylor

    You are entering the state of enlightenment, grasshopper!

Leave a Reply

