The Wizard of Oz

In the last week and a half, the house has been transformed from a rough-edged grayscale project to a slick Technicolor wonderland. The interior woodwork (door frames, baseboards, chair rails) went in, and then the painters got to work.

As discussed earlier, picking coordinating colors for an entire house is a daunting task, especially when you don’t have any furniture/art/flooring/possessions to reference. I mean, I know my couch is “brown,” and my artwork is “colorful,” but pulling colors from furnishings (like you’re supposed to) just wasn’t an option for us. And we had to pick colors that would harmonize throughout the house, from room to room. STRESS.

Let’s see how you think we did.

Most of the living areas are done in Sisal, by Martha Stewart Living. Here’s the family room:

Let me pause to tell you how TOTALLY PSYCHED I am that we decided to vault the ceiling in this room. It feels enormous.

The hallway/foyer is done in the same color (as are the living room, sunroom, kitchen, and guest bedroom):

I shamelessly stole this idea for a bright green laundry room from our friends who are letting us rent their house. Every time I walk into their laundry room, it makes me happy. The color is Green Energy, by Behr:

(sorry for the floaters, the house is covered in a fine layer of drywall dust and primer spray, so it was impossible to keep the lens totally clean)

The girls’ room is the most serene, beautiful blue color, called Sea Glass by Martha Stewart. It’s like walking into a swimming pool. I love, love, love it.

The master bedroom and the dining room are done in Fashion Gray by Behr. Our bedroom furniture is white, which will break up the gray nicely, I think. I hope. Eeeep!

Tyler’s room was painted Spanish Olive, which was a little scary before it dried. He loves it.

 

The kids’ bathroom has beadboard halfway up the walls, so I chose a rich blue for the upper half. It’s Cayman Bay, again by Behr.

The master bathroom, as well as the insides of the kitchen pantries, are painted in Zen by Behr, which is a grown-up version of the color in the girls’ room.

Lest you think my house is some sort of carnival of color, I remind you that most of the walls are the Sisal color. I saved the bolder colors for rooms with doors.

Also, I like blues and greens. A lot.

We passed our 90% inspection this morning, so I think, I THINK, I can see the light at the end of this particular tunnel.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Wizard of Oz

  1. Tonya

    Catching up on your blog posts this morning…just saw this one and I love, love, LOVE your color choices! Especially the laundry room and the kids’ bathroom!! I know you can’t wait to move back in and we’re sssooooo excited for you!

  2. Pingback: Blog Every Day in May: Retrospective | House Blend

  3. Pingback: A man, a plan, a canal, Panama! | House Blend

Leave a Reply

