DivorceCare, or, “Those who can, do. Those who can’t, co-facilitate.”

I have volunteered to co-facilitate a DivorceCare class that is being held at my church this fall.

STOP LAUGHING.

I know, I know. I barely have my own act together. I know, I know. I still struggle with divorce issues. I know, I know.

And yet.

There are so many people who are in a much worse place. There are people who need help, advice, resources, referrals. There are so many people who have suddenly found their life profoundly changed, who might like a friendly face and a snack.

This is not a therapy group. No one will be forced to share their sob stories. There will be no drum circle, no kum-bah-yah, and a minimum of Kleenex. The class comprises a series of videos with concrete strategies for dealing with many of the situations and emotions that arise during and after a divorce. Maybe you’ve never balanced your own checkbook, or bought your own car insurance, or you’re wondering if and when you should handle dating. Maybe you struggle with deep anger, or crippling loneliness. Maybe you have been abandoned by your “old” friends, your family, or even your church. Maybe you want to find a counselor for your children, but don’t want to make them feel like freaks.

Speaking of which, there is also DC4K, the class for children, which runs at the same time as the adult class.

If you’re separated-but-not-divorced, you should come. If you’ve just finished up your divorce, you should come. If you’ve been divorced for years but still feel you haven’t quite made it past the first hurdles, you should come.

And if you know someone who could use a little bit of help, you should make them come.

You don’t have to wear a black “D” on your chest. You can arrive in sunglasses and a hat. You don’t even have to sign up beforehand.  The door will be open. The class is free.

Plus, like I said, there will be snacks.

The adult class, as well as the children’s class, is being held every Wednesday for 12 weeks, starting August 31 at Faith Presbyterian Church, 2200 North Meridian Rd., Tallahassee, FL 32303. The phone number is (850) 385-6151. Church dinner is at 5:00, and the class starts at 6:00.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “DivorceCare, or, “Those who can, do. Those who can’t, co-facilitate.”

  1. My son and I did DivorceCare and is great!

  2. gail brent

    We have Divorce Care at our church and I know that many hearts have been healed and helped. Think the kids program is wonderful too!
    You totally impress me and I love your blog.

Leave a Reply

