Lamp, no genie

Exhibit A: Shiny Brass Lamp. 

I wanted a lamp for Tyler’s room (the ceiling fan light is a bit depressing) so my mom gave me this one from her house. It had a lovely pin-tucked shade, but the whole thing was dusty and the shade had some mystery stains on it. I liked the lines of the lamp, just not…. anything else.  

There’s nothing wrong with brass, and there’s certainly nothing wrong with SHINY, but it’s not my thing.

Purchased: Rust-oleum Clean Metal Primer and Rust-oleum Universal Metallic All-Surface Paint in “Oil-Rubbed Bronze.” ($12 for both)

I sprayed the lamp and finial, after taping off the cord and bulb-holding bits. I cleaned the shade by lightly spraying it with upholstery cleaner. It took care of 90% of the stains.

Exhibit B: A Stylish Upgrade

Next up on my to-do list: Take better before and after photos!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

