Not Without My Hammer II: The Final Front(ier)

The front of our house was, to put it lightly, boring. Like dry-wheat-toast boring. When I bought this house, I convinced myself that I didn’t care what the outside looked like, because who spends time admiring the front of their own house? Besides, it’s what’s on the inside that counts, right? Didn’t I learn that somewhere?

Anyway, this is what the front of our house looked like from December 2007 until last week:

It turns out that when you’re trying to sell a house, other people DO care what the outside looks like. We had a realtors-only open house a few weeks ago, and without exception they said, “Looking at the front, you’d never know how cute it is on the inside.”

So we got to work (but not in a Rick Scott way). We put up large-scale house numbers. We installed shutters. We painted the front door. We lightly landscaped. We removed the screen door.

And now……

 

We’re not done yet – we want MORE landscaping, but we’re having a hard time finding tall plants that will grow in extremely low sunlight.  But look at how much cuter she is! And the best part: I think the whole thing cost less than $300. If I’d known that, I would have done it years ago.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Not Without My Hammer II: The Final Front(ier)

  1. Amy

    CUUUUUUTE!!!! Have you considered window boxes instead of tall plants? You could do something that trails down and have the same effect?

  2. Anna L.

    I know ALL ABOUT shade-luvin’ plant. Of course, I’m in the Pac NW and you’re in Florida, but I think some of my favorites would probably do really well in both locations.

    First: sword ferns. They are nearly impossible to kill. They like shade. Part shade. Part sun. (Not so much full sun.) They like moist soil. They like dry soil. (I have them in both the wettest and the dryest parts of my tiny yard.) Best of all, you can usually find them already grown to a decent size, and for pretty cheap.

    There are other big, beautiful ferns, too, but sword ferns are an easy go-to plant.

    Hostas. Some get FREAKING HUGE. But slugs love them. That can be a problem.

    Some rhododendrons are happy in shade and they can be big and beautiful all year long.

    Mahonia x media ‘Charity’ can be happy in part shade, is a lovely evergreen, and produces awesome yellow flowers!

    I’ve got a dwarf strawberry tree (Arbutus unedo) in one of the shadiest parts of my back yard (it’s about 20 feet away from our 3 story house in a north-facing yard, so it’s SHADY). Most people say you need at least part sun to grow this shrub, but mine has been fine. It doesn’t flower/produce fruit as much, and it’s growing slower than it otherwise would, but it’s healthy and happy.

Leave a Reply

