Blog Hop!

Kat of the Walking Deadpan tagged me in this-here blog hop thing, so let’s play:

The Rules:

Answer the following questions, then tag someone else (or someones elses; up to 5).

What am I currently working on?

Nursing a 13-day-old infant while writing a blog post and drinking coffee. I like to live on the edge.

How do I write?

With all ten fingers, just like Mavis Beacon taught me.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

My work has 40% more octopi than other bloggers.

Why do I write what I write?

Because raging alcoholism and homicidal ideations are considered lowbrow.

I’ve written all my life. When I was a kid on road trips, I would write travel logs. When I grew up, I was always on the staff of some school newspaper or magazine (or both). After college, I was a newspaper reporter. So this question is kind of like asking why I brush my teeth, or why I breathe.

How does my writing process work?

I seat myself in an ergonomic chair in my tastefully-decorated-yet-totally-organized writing sanctuary, light exactly two scented candles, and gaze out the window at the cheerful woodland creatures in the back yard, who are weaving flower crowns in my honor. Then I meditate on my writing for exactly 27 minutes, at which point my coffee minion brings me a Nespresso. At that point, I am mentally and spiritually prepared to give the world the gift of my words.

Wait. No. I just sit down and do it. There is no magic. My fingers don’t spark when I have a really good idea. (Although that would be awesome.)

So on to tagging! Who wants to take the Blog Hop baton and run with it?

1. The Word

2. White House Dinners

3. Oysters & Pearls

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Blog Hop!

  1. Hey, Windy, thanks for tagging me. It’s funny (to me) that I had a similar invitation to answer similar questions last week for a(nother) friend’s blog. She hasn’t posted it yet. When she does, I’ll post my answers to your questions and link out to hers. I’ll let you know when it’s up.

Leave a Reply

