Janus

A look backward…..

This morning I took a look back at my resolutions from last year, to see how I did:

1. Make peace with the fact that “Be Valedictorian of Everything!” is neither reasonable, nor healthy, nor sane.

I think I did a pretty good job with this one. Lowering the bar FTW! I let go of a lot of emotional baggage this year. It felt good.

2. Adhere more closely to William Morris’ instruction, “Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.”

With Jason’s help (always!), I got rid of quite a bit. We shredded old bills and statements, sold some things on Craigslist, and generally slimmed down our collection of stuff. It’s an ongoing process, but I feel we have a better handle on the clutter.

3. EXECUTE.

I still struggle with this one, not going to lie. I improved somewhat over last year, but maybe only 30%.

4. Continue to take better care of this old bag of bones.

Having a tiny alien being inhabit your bag of bones is a very good incentive to stay healthy! On the eating front, I expanded my meatless recipe repertoire. On the exercise front, I did good-but-not-great. On the frivolous front, I used eye cream and rosacea treatment consistently throughout the year, and got my hair cut on a regular basis.

5. Less fretting!

Several outside factors have contributed to my success in this arena. Paying off all our non-mortgage debt was a HUGE load off my mind. We also started seeing a counselor for some blended-family issues we were having, and he provided some valuable tools to combat anxiety.

A look forward…..

I am pleased with the list above. I still have a lot of work to do, especially in area #3 and #5. I will add a few more:

6. Make it (kitchen).

I re-discovered my love of canning last year, and I want to continue that. My dream would be to stock my pantry with homemade sauces, jams, pickles, and preserves. This is not realistic (SEE #1), but I can work at it. I would also like to make more of my own snack foods – crackers and spiced nuts and whatnot.

7. Make it (house).

We’ve lived in our house for two years, and there are STILL bare walls crying out for art, sofas crying out for throw pillows, and bookcases crying out for style. I am still a little scared of my sewing machine, but I need to get over it. I am also a little scared of putting holes in the walls, but I need to get over that, too.

8. Grow it.

I s-u-c-k at gardening. Last year we managed to grow basil, parsley, and cilantro. This year I would like to add jalapenos or tomatoes or something else that’s easy and forgiving. Suggestions are welcome.

I think that’s enough for one year, especially one that will include a new baby!

17-4

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Janus

  1. Lisa

    Go after that sewing machine and make a few pillows – easy square and rectangles! That’s about all that gets sewn on my machine – I did make some (square) fabric coasters (with batting inside) – I think that should count for some brownie points! I have seen pillows make from sewing two placemats or kitchen towels together – I think I’ll try it! And I think I’ll work more towards Mr Morris’ advice.

  2. Windy Taylor

    Mr. Morris was a wise man. Here’s to a year of rolling up one’s sleeves!

Leave a Reply

