Five Favorite Things: Pizza

It turns out that children will eat almost any food if served in pizza form, so we usually have homemade pizza once a week at the Taylor ranch. I love trying new topping combinations, although they’re usually happier if I stick with pepperoni or (gag) plain cheese. Here are my current five favorites:

1. Buffalo Chicken Pizza, from How Sweet It Is

I made this for the first time on Sunday night, and it knocked my socks right off. Since blue cheese is one of my migraine triggers (I know, weep for me), I had to use all ranch dressing (instead of half-ranch, half-blue-cheese) and crumbled gorgonzola for the top. Also I added crumbled bacon, because BACON.

2. Fig-Prosciutto Pizza with Arugula, from The Pioneer Woman

This is my absolute favorite summertime pizza. It’s classy enough to serve to grown-ups with a cold chardonnay.

3. Pulled Pork Pizza, from Life’s Ambrosia

I’m not trying to brag, but my husband is a bit of a pulled pork magician. (STOP GIGGLING.) He makes his own seasoning rub and everything. Lately we’ve been cooking pork butts in the crock-pot, with excellent results. We use the meat for sandwiches, nachos, and this pizza. It is amazing. You’d think the pork would be heavy, but the flavor is brightened by the cilantro and onion.

4. Potato Leek Pizza, from The Pioneer Woman

This recipe appears in PW’s first cookbook, but the recipe was featured in the Village Voice in 2009. I’d never used potatoes on pizza before, and it was a revelation. My pepper mill gets quite a workout when I make this one.

5. Spinach Bacon Alfredo Pizza, by me

Start with your favorite pizza crust. Spread a thin layer of roasted garlic on it, followed by a layer of alfredo sauce. Next, defrost a box of frozen spinach and spread it on top of the sauce. Sprinkle with salt, and throw on some chopped sun-dried tomatoes if you’re feeling frisky. Top with a bag of Italian-blend cheese (or fresh mozzarella and Parmesan), and then throw on some crumbled bacon. Bake at 400 for 10 minutes.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Five Favorite Things: Pizza

  1. #4 sounds especially badass. I’ll file that one away.

Leave a Reply

